Leeds' strengths in medical technologies and eHealth are world-class. It has the Medical Technologies Innovation and Knowledge Centre (IKC) and Leeds' Institute for Data Analytics, the city hosts one of four national NIHR Diagnostic Evidence collaboratives and is the home of NHS Digital (previously HSCIC).


Centres and Institutions

University of Leeds:

A world top 100 university and renowned globally for the quality of its teaching and research.

The Leeds Teaching Hospitals:

Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust contributes to life in the Leeds region, not only by being one of the largest employers, but also by supporting the health and well-being of the community and playing a leading role in research, education and innovation.

Yorkshire & Humber Academic Health Science Network (AHSN):

Y&H AHSN is focused on adopting and spreading proven innovation, research and evidence at pace and scale – improving clinical outcomes through driving behaviour change, building collaboration and encouraging enterprise and investment.

Medical Technologies Innovation and Knowledge Centre (IKC):

£50m private sector investment in Medical Technologies IKC products since it was established,

Leeds Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering:

Europe’s largest integrated multi-disciplinary medical engineering centre and one of the world's top 10 bioengineering research institutes.

NIHR Leeds Clinical Research Facility:

Part of the largest trust in the country and joined by a second research facility at Chapel Allerton Hospital (CAH) supports musculoskeletal studies and is closely linked to the NIHR Leeds Musculoskeletal Biomedical Research Unit (LMBRU).

EULAR designated Centre of Excellence in Rheumatology:

Recognised by the European League against Rheumatology. A partnership between the Department of Rheumatology, Leeds Institute of Molecular Medicine and Leeds Musculoskeletal Biomedical Unit, Leeds Teaching Hospital NHS Trust.

Leeds Cancer Research UK Centre:

One of 15 Cancer Research UK centres.

Clinical Trials Research Unit: National Cancer Research Institute (NCRI):

Accredited and UKCRC Registered Clinical Trials Unit (CTU). Second largest UK trials centre in 2012 recruiting for nearly 400 trials.

NIHR Leeds Musculoskeletal Biomedical Research Unit (BRU):

One of 20 national BRUs, and one of three musculoskeletal BRUs.

Experimental Cancer Medicine Centres (ECMCs):

World-leading scientists and clinicians who drive the discovery, development and testing of new treatments to combat cancer.

NIHR Healthcare Technology Co-operative for Colorectal Therapies:

NIHR has funded eight Healthcare Technology Co-operatives (HTCs) across England. Each HTC acts as a centre of expertise, which will focus on a clinical area of unmet need for NHS patients

NIHR Diagnostic Evidence Co-operative Leeds:

Facilitates the research needed to evaluate diagnostic tests add value to the transit of IVDs through to patient benefits and the commercial marketplace.

MRC Pathology Nodes:

Each node is a multidisciplinary centre of innovative molecular diagnostic test discovery and development bringing together the research base, pathology/genetic services and industry.

Leeds Institute for Data Analytics:

Including the MRC Centre for Medical Bioinformatics and the ESRC Consumer Data Research Centre.


Chapel Allerton Hospital:

Part of the Leeds Teaching Hospitals.

Leeds Dental Hospital & Leeds General Infirmary:

Part of the Leeds Teaching Hospitals.

St James' University Hospital:

Part of the Leeds Teaching Hospitals.

Seacroft Hospital:

Part of the Leeds Teaching Hospitals.

Contact us to find out more